Home Running Links Photos
Wayzata Men's Cross Country

Wayzata XC Year-by-Year Results

1968 Ward Schuster          
1969 Dick Johnson          
1970 Dick Johnson          
1971 Gary Riedl          
1972 Gary Riedl          
1973 Gary Riedl   6th      
1974 Gary Riedl          
1975 Gary Riedl   6th      
1976 Bill Miles          
1977 Bill Miles   6th      
1978 Bill Miles   1st 4th    
1979 Bill Miles   1st 3rd    
1980 Bill Miles   4th      
1981 Bill Miles   3rd      
1982 Bill Miles   4th      
1983 Bill Miles 3rd 4th      
1984 Bill Miles 3rd 3rd      
1985 Bill Miles 4th 4th      
1986 Bill Miles 4th 8th      
1987 Bill Miles 3rd 4th      
1988 Bill Miles 2nd 1st 2nd    
1989 Bill Miles 1st 1st 4th    
1990 Bill Miles 2nd 3rd      
1991 Bill Miles 4th 1st 12th    
1992 Bill Miles 1st 1st 1st    
1993 Bill Miles 1st 1st 1st   25th
1994 Bill Miles 1st 1st 4th    
1995 Bill Miles 1st 1st 2nd    
1996 Bill Miles 1st 1st 8th    
1997 Bill Miles


1998 Bill Miles 5th 6th      
1999 Bill Miles 2nd 2nd 7th    
2000 Bill Miles 2nd 1st 1st   12th
2001 Bill Miles 2nd 2nd 3rd    
2002 Bill Miles 3rd 3rd      
2003 Bill Miles 3rd 4th      
2004 Bill Miles 3rd 5th      
2005 Bill Miles 2nd 5th      
2006 Bill Miles 1st 3rd      
2007 Bill Miles 1st 1st 1st 1st 20th
2008 Bill Miles 1st 1st 1st 1st 18th
2009 Bill Miles 1st 2nd 2nd 2nd 16th
2010 Bill Miles 2nd 1st 1st 1st 9th
2011 Bill Miles 2nd 3rd   8th  
2012 Bill Miles 1st 1st 3rd 6th  
2013 Bill Miles 1st 1st 1st 2nd 15th
2014 Bill Miles 1st 1st 1st 1st 2nd
2015 Mark Popp 3rd 4th   3rd 14th
2016 Mark Popp 1st 1st 1st 1st 10th
2017 Mark Popp 1st 1st 1st 1st 11th
2018 Mark Popp 1st 1st 3rd 5th  
2019 Mark Popp 4th 4th   23rd  
2020 Mark Popp 1st 5th 3rd** Not Held Not Held
2021 Mark Popp 1st 1st 1st 1st Not Held (31st)*
2022 Mark Popp 1st 1st 1st 1st 12th
2023 Mark Popp 1st 1st 1st 2nd 18th

*Nike Cross Nationals began in 2004 as a way to determine a true national championship team. 22 teams were selected by a committee and brought to Portland, Oregon to compete for the national title. In 2007, Nike Cross Regionals began as a way for teams to earn a spot in the national championship meet. Prior to Nike Cross Nationals in 2004, "The Harrier" compiled a ranking of the top 25 teams in the nation and a national champion was crowned on paper. Rankings listed in the NXN column prior to 2004 reflect Wayzata's end of season ranking from "The Harrier." NXN was not held in 2020 and 2021 due to the COVID-19 pandemic. In 2021, in place of NXN, the Garmin RunningLane Championships were held in Huntsville, Alabama. Any team could attend, but 31 teams were selected to compete in the "Gold Race" to conclude the championship meet.

**In 2020, due to the COVID-19 pandemic, the MSHSL state meet was not held. In place of an official state meet, TC Running Company sponsored an alternative club format (i.e. NXR/NXN) for the top teams and individuals in the state that year. More clubs were invited than the traditional top 2 from each section, allowing Wayzata XC Club to compete. The meet was conducted following MDH race protocols in waves of 4 teams at a time and results compiled upon the conclusion of all the waves.